Scientia Marina, Vol 63, No S1 (1999)

Mollusca of the Magellan Region. A checklist of the species and their distribution

Katrin Linse
Zoological Institute and Zoological Museum, University of Hamburg, Germany


The Molluscan species collected during the Victor Hensen Joint Magellan Campaign 1994 served as the basis for this species list. The list was then completed by literature data on the distribution of molluscs around the Falkland Islands, the other Scotia Arc Islands, Antarctica and the Kerguelen Islands. 397 Magellan species are known: 10 species of Aplacophora, 250 species of Gastropoda, 6 species of Scaphopoda and 131 species of Bivalvia. Polyplacophora and Cephalopoda are not included because both taxa need revision.


Mollusca; Magellan region; checklist; biogeography

Full Text:


Copyright (c) 1999 Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Contact us

Technical support